nature reclaims itself

297598_274852692526268_745108_nAs I mentioned before, Terceira has many abandoned and desolate structures. These contemporary ruins fascinate me. I admire how nature seems to have an unlimited ability to reclaims itself.

Once these structures are neglected, the paint peels away; dust and dirt accumulate and cracks form in the concrete allowing roots take hold. Foliage growth is now uninhibited by humans, ivy begins to adhere to the walls and roof tiles begin to disintegrate under plant growth. I find a very comforting beauty in all this.

I love this reassurance that nature persists far past our ability to contain it and our environmentally destructive tendencies. Walking past these overgrown buildings causes a tranquil feeling within me, leaving me momentary at peace.

8 thoughts on “nature reclaims itself

Add yours

  1. I started with Season 3 and had to stop watching in the middle of season 5 cuz it got scary… like enough that I would dread taking PS out to potty… LOL so we had to switch to something more light hearted, but its pretty good! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

