2010: seven social sins

Artist Statement:  Seven Social Sins was my primary body of work created in 2010. The project consists of twenty-one 24 inch x 24 inch mixed media pieces on canvas. Media used included paper, found objects, ephemera, fabric, colored pencil, watercolor, ink and acrylic paint. Each canvas contains a unique conceptual image based on one of Mahatma Gandhi’s Seven Social Sins. Each sin has three individual pieces applicable to that particular theme.

My ultimate goal with this series was to create stunning, aesthetically pleasing imagery that remained intriguing, thought-provoking and subtly provocative. With a project of this nature it would be far easier to display the blatantly unpleasant and atrocious visuals likely to be associated with these principles. Despite this, I challenged myself to create a type of dichotomy within each piece, allowing the works to be both visual appealing yet slightly unnerving. The images contain their own beauty and interest on an aesthetic level. While at the same time, each work compels the viewer to consider various darker interpretations of the work. Eventually, I want people to gain a better understanding of how such sins play a constant role in our own cultures causing persistent social injustice.

Sin #1: Commerce without morality

Sin #2: Knowledge without character

Sin #3: Pleasure without conscience

Sin #4: Politics without principle

Sin #5: Science without humanity

Sin #6: Wealth without work

Sin #7: Worship without Sacrifice

18 thoughts on “2010: seven social sins

Add yours

  1. those are just masterpieces… sometimes it’s almost Steampunk, sometimes it’s wonderful, sometimes it’s scary, but always amazingly beautiful, with a perfectly chosen symbolism, you succeed to do three absolutly different works on the same subject, it’s so mysterious, poetic and leaves thousands of mystical questions. My favorite is “knowledge without character I”, it looks so georgous and at the same time it’s both cute and sorta sad. The birds looks like they’re gonna fly away from the painting.
    Congrats, and thank you, I had a wonderful time looking at these!

    Like

    1. Thank you very much. I appreciate your thoughtful comment. That is one of my favorites too. I am proud of this series, it was a tricky topic, because it inspires a lot of dark concepts. Some of my favorite works I have produced are part of this body of work.

      Like

    1. That is so sweet of you! Thank you so much. This is probably my favorite series to date as well. Thank you so much for taking the time to check out my work and comment on my blog. I sincerely appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

