commission: we’re all mad here…

I can’t even begin explain how much I loved creating this piece.  Much like me, this client has also been drawn to the memorable iconography of Alice in Wonderland.  Strangely, the story itself never did much for either of us, but the imagery and concepts were  captivating.  Speaking with my client, she shared many fragments of her personal history and challenges from her youth–explaining how she has grown into the amazing and motivated woman she is now.  The details of her story are very much her own, and it is not my place to share anymore.  However, I do have the joy have sharing this work created just for her–

In-progress, image 1
In-progress, image 1
In-progress, image 2
In-progress, image 2
We're all mad here...
We’re all mad here…
In-progress, image 3
In-progress, image 3
In-progress, image 4
In-progress, image 4
In-progress, image 5
In-progress, image 5
We're all mad here, 18in x 18in mixed media collage on canvas, 2013
We’re all mad here, 18in x 18in mixed media collage on canvas, 2013
detail image 1
detail image 1
detail image 2
detail image 2
Detail image 3
Detail image 3
Detail image 4
Detail image 4

7 Comments Add yours

  1. mandymeow says:

    that’s BEAUTIFUL!

  2. Love seeing the development of your work!

    1. Thank you for taking a moment to check out my process. I never really know if my image progressions are interesting to people or not. :)

  3. You made this for Trishell didn’t you?

    1. Actually, no–but she did love it. It was made for another woman I know, but it reminded me of her.

Leave a Reply

