madrid day 3 (365 good days: #306)

I found this naughty little turret hiding in our hotel bathroom.  My husband thinks he is so funny.
I found this naughty little turret hiding in our hotel bathroom. My husband thinks he is so funny.
Waiting in line at the Prado museum.
Waiting in line at the Prado museum.  Photo by Matt R.W.

We enjoyed a quick breakfast at the hotel before we headed to the Prado Museum.  We arrived to find a substantial line for museum tickets.  However, today we had chosen to catch a taxi instead of the bus/walk, which meant we spent the time we would have used traveling to the museum in line at the museum.  So everything sort of seemed to even out.  The wait was about thirty minutes, but we were in good company, and none of us minded the wait.

The Garden of Earthly Delights (triptych) Hieronymus Bosch, 1490-1510
The Garden of Earthly Delights (triptych) Hieronymus Bosch, 1490-1510

I also feel it is important to mention—this museum was well worth the wait for admission.  I was amazed.  The work I was most excited to view was The Garden of Earthly Delights by Hieronymous Bosch.  This piece has always intrigued me.  The second two panels of the triptych contain such immense detail, it is difficult for the viewer to take it all in.  The work  is also very dark, despite the artists beautiful use of forms and color.  The entire work feels entirely surreal—yet, it was created several hundred years before the movement of Surrealism. This museum is also home to other phenomenal works such as,  The Third of May: the Executions on Príncipe Pío by Goya, The Descent from the Cross by Rogier van der Weyden, The Annunciation by Fra Angelico and The Three Graces by Rubens–but that is only a tiny glimpse into the artistic masterpieces held at this venue.

We met up for lunch at the museum cafe, with the intention of spending another hour or so finishing up our various tours of the galleries.  However, I found when I returned from my wandering about the second floor, that I was the only one who had left.  All of my friends have simply reminded at the cafe for the past hour, leisurely finishing their lunches and enjoying a glass of wine and chatting.  I felt a bit guilty that they had all stayed, had I known I was the only one finishing the museum that afternoon, I wouldn’t have made them stay.  But they assured me, they were perfectly content just where they were.  So that is sweet.

I don't know the reason for the fake-humans-on-balconies, but they looked fun.
I don’t know the reason for the fake-humans-on-balconies, but they looked fun, so I took a picture.
Charlie is attacking her mother with love at a street cafe.
Charlie is attacking her mother with love at a street cafe.

From the Prado we simply wandered through Madrid back to Puerta del Sol, stopping for coffee along the way.  We eventually ended up at another outdoor cafe where we finished the afternoon people-watching, shopping, and sharing a bottle of wine.  None of us are particularly into shopping.  However, all of us ladies did seem to do an inept job packing our luggage, and needed to find a few helpful items–such as socks.

Megan, Casey and me, with his thoughtful gift in the foreground. Photo by Dannon
Megan, Casey and me, with his thoughtful gift in the foreground. Photo by Dannon

For dinner, we accidentally ended up at an American-themed restaurant.  We were already settled in by the time we really looked at the menu (the spooky Halloween decorations were alluring.  However, the name Ribs, really should have given us a hint.)  Normally, we are all people who prefer to at least make an attempt to eat more local and traditional foods when we travel.  But we were settled, and didn’t really care one way or another at that point.  We were simply hungry.

Also Casey found a toothpaste/toothbrush dispenser in the restroom, which he assumed Dr. Dannon the dentist would enjoy.  He did–because, hey–who doesn’t like free tiny hygienic oral supplies?  No one, that’s who.

This is me pointing out the Montana Provolone on the menu.  As a Montana girl, I thought this was humorous.
This is me pointing out the “Montana Provolone” on the menu. As a Montana girl, I thought this was humorous for several reasons–one being that my home-state is not known for cheese.  Photo by Dale

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

