lisbon day 2 (365 good days: #310)

Megan being creepy on the Lisbon metro.
Megan being creepy on the Lisbon metro.

We missed our plane. I have never, in my life missed a flight because of any circumstances within my control. I had told everyone the wrong time–being the trusting (or maybe slightly lazy) people they are, no one double-checked me. I said the flight was leaving at 9:50 a.m., but really it was leaving at 9:20 a.m. The problem goes beyond that, and the fact we had been running slightly late.

Still creepy...
Still creepy…

Apparently, according to the Lisbon Airport all flight gates close one-hour before the flight. This is a policy I have never heard of. After far too long in line, we discovered the next flight wasn’t until 8 am. the following morning. Luckily, (despite the fact that I entirely blamed myself for this whole debacle) no one blamed me for this inconvenient turn of events.

The Sutherlands playing with little Miss C.
The Sutherlands playing with little Miss C.
Yep, still creepy.
Yep, still creepy.

Well, this gave us one more day in Lisbon, so we made the best of it. I wandered around the city taking photographs for a couple of hours, while my husband read at an outdoor cafe. The girls and I did a little shopping, we enjoyed drinks at this funky little bar in a square by the ocean. And of course–we had dinner at the amazing Indian restaurant again. Why not? It will be a long time before we are able to have any sort of non- Portugese ethnic cuisine.

Megan attacking her friends with love.  Dannon clearly loves it.
Megan attacking her friends with love. Dannon clearly loves it.
My husband doesn't understand how to accept my hugs.  He is weird.  I love him.
My husband doesn’t understand how to accept my hugs. He is weird. I love him.
Lisbon, 2013
Lisbon, 2013
Fountain in Lisbon, 2013
Fountain in Lisbon, 2013
Dannon rejected the cute red sweater Casey is wearing in this photo--so he was cropped out.  He failed at being a sweater friend.
Dannon rejected the cute red sweater Casey is wearing in this photo–so he was cropped out. He failed at being a sweater friend.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

