artist’s way II: week two artist date

Simple art supplies:  Sketchbook, decent paintbrush, Faber-Castell India ink pens, and Reeves water-soluble pastels
Simple art supplies: Sketchbook, decent paintbrush, Faber-Castell India ink pens, and Reeves water-soluble pastels

Currently, I am living out of a small one bedroom apartment-style hotel room.  My husband and I are in the process of moving, and thus we have been living out of a hotel since the beginning of this month.  Living on an air base, with no vehicle, and limited access to anything, an artist date was a bit of a challenge.  However, I did manage to get into town (as in drive the 15-20 mins. into the city of Grand Forks, ND) to buy a few simple art supplies.  I didn’t want to spend too much, because I do have an entire art studio of goodies coming my way via ship.  I just needed enough to play with.

I didn’t really have much inspiration of where to begin, so I simply used my brush and my husband’s left over coffee (he had gone to work), and dripped it on the pages, pressed pages against each other, left marks from the mugs, dripped my tea bags, etc.  From there, I just sort of doodled, and sketched, and this is what I ended up with.  Any easy–and surprisingly fun little artist date.

Tea drips abstract art play--
Tea drips abstract art play–
Tea bag splatter/Rorschach style abstract art play--
Tea bag splatter/Rorschach style abstract art play–
Coffee mug marks and drips art play--
Coffee mug marks and drips art play–
Coffee drips art play--
Coffee drips art play–
Coffee drips art play--
Coffee drips art play–
Coffee drips art play--
Coffee drips art play–

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Joy of Art Studio and commented:
    I love the way Carley treated herself to an artist date and created a little studio in a small space.
    artists way is an amazing manual for Creatives and Julia Cameron gives valuable tools and techniques for developing and reinforcing your own creative process

  2. I love the way you gave yourself a gift of art supplies to feed your creative well even in a small space. it does not matter what you have or how big your space is.. I have been in spaces like the basement of my mother in law, hospital rooms hotels a porch a tiny bedroom you name it and have created and in fact it was the creative energy that helped make the space my own little studio…. I love the wonderful flow in your journal that you did and the coffee cup. are you still doing the Artists’ way love to join I do morning pages daily as a practice.. Am also running a thirty days of daily painting in may if you want o join. Joy

    1. Exactly! Just making art is healing, and helps keep me feeling like myself. Even if it is just doodling, or little aimless sketches. I am still doing The Artist’s Way. I just haven’t been as consecutive with my weeks as had I hoped with the move. I will be posting my week two thoughts soon. Hopefully next week I will start to be more regular with it. Thanks so much for your comment and taking the time to share your experiences. It is very kind of you.

  3. I hope you didn’t have to leave the dogs behind !!!?

    1. Of course not! The girls are hanging out in the hotel with me. They are my buddies, they help keep me sane when I get too bored. :)

      1. I think you’ll all be happy when you can move into a house !

Leave a Reply

