making a house a home I

Our yard before, full of dirt--and a lot of inorganic trash.
Our yard before, full of dirt–and a lot of inorganic trash.
A rusty and sketchy children's swingset, and other useless items the former home-owners had left behind.
A rusty and sketchy children’s swing set, and other useless items the former home-owners had left behind.
Yard, before--
Yard, before–

I don’t blame our landlords in the slightest, but this was the condition of our backyard when we moved into our new rental home.  The negligence and lack of common sense repair skills of the pervious homeowners is clear throughout our new home.  Our landlords did a huge amount of maintenance and repair work to bring this house to a nice condition for renting–and as I mentioned, I don’t mind projects.  They keep me busy.

Therefore, for the benefit of aesthetics, and more importantly, for my dogs to have a nice area to play in, I began seeding the lawn.  I  wanted to make the yard far more green, and less full of useless bits of metal and/or plastic (oh, and the crazy-abundance of large dog faeces that had also been left).   For about the first week, my dogs were nervous to leave the deck and sidewalk.  I assume because of all the strange-strange-big-dog-marking-smells that must have filled the backyard.  Once, I started digging up the dirt, tilling up the ground for seeding, the dogs became more confident and adventurous–claiming their new yard as their own.

More dirt!  Yay, bare soil, this will make my dogs' feet so muddy!  Awesome!
More dirt! Yay, bare soil, this will make my dogs’ feet so muddy! Awesome!

This is the third yard I have regrown from seed.  It is a labor-intensive process, but I don’t mind.  It gives me a strong sense of satisfaction, it is a nice little workout, and, ultimately, it gives me something to do.

My new baby grass is growing!  Yay!
My new baby grass is growing! Yay!

And finally–we have grass!  Some areas are still a bit sparse, and my gardening skills still certainly leave something to be desired.  However, we do now have a lawn, and two happy dogs.

A happy DocMo.
A happy DocMo.
No more swing set and random children's toys.
No more swing set and random children’s toys.  Although the shed is still bright pink.
Soupy is camouflaged.   She thinks she is a fence.
Soupy is camouflaged. She thinks she’s fence.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

