image progression: questionable self

me.

Reference image and sketch
Reference image and sketch

I was invited to take part in a local group art exhibition this February at the beautiful Third Street Gallery here in Grand Forks. The exhibition is titled Selfie, and the artists have been encouraged to play with the theme however they see fit.  This is my contribution.  I wanted to create a self-portrait that captured my artist style while still including my image.  However, I didn’t want the literal image of me to be the main focal point, I wanted my artistic style-my art–to be what captivated potential viewers.  My art feels like a far more intrinsic part of me than my actual appearance.

This is my first gallery exhibition in my new town.  I’m looking forward to being included with other talented artists and I am very curious to see how they chose to develop the theme.

That being said, here is my selfie.

In-progress, image 1
In-progress, image 1
In-progress, image 2
In-progress, image 2
In-progress, image 3
In-progress, image 3
In-progress, image 4
In-progress, image 4
Lost in my mind, 24in x 24in, mixed media collage on canvas, 2015
Questionable Self, 24in x 24in, mixed media collage on canvas, 2015
Detail image 1
Detail image 1
Detail image 2
Detail image 2
Detail image 3
Detail image 3

4 thoughts on “image progression: questionable self

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

