within seven days: week no. 5

Too old to be so shy, 32in x 24in, acrylic on canvas, 2014
Too old to be so shy, 32in x 24in, acrylic on canvas, 2014

My husband has heard me compliment strangers countless times.  I always lean over and say, “She is so pretty, I love his glasses, her hair is so cute, that coat is adorable,” etc.  He almost always responds with, “Well go tell (insert-gender-appropriate-pronoun-here), because everyone likes to be told something nice.”  I rarely ever do, because I am basically scared of all people, and I don’t want to seem creepy complimenting a stranger.  However, strangers have complimented me before, and I just thought it was really sweet.  So why I assume it is sweet when others do it, but I would be creepy? I have no idea.

This past Saturday, I volunteered to serve wine for a silent auction benefit dinner at the local art museum.  This doesn’t count as going out of my comfort zone, even though it was, because I have done this before.  What I did intentionally try to do was compliment people I didn’t know who did have hair, glasses, shoes, etc, I genuinely liked. I felt awkward and a bit nerdy, but I guess when it comes down to it–who doesn’t like a compliment, right?

2 thoughts on “within seven days: week no. 5

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

