selfie: a group show

self_title

Adam Kemp, 2015
Adam Kemp, 2015

This past Thursday, I attended the art opening to my first group exhibition here in Grand Forks.  As I mentioned in my previous post about the development of the piece I created for this show, the theme/title was Selfie.  I have attended several opening at the Third Street Gallery since we moved to Grand Forks, last April.   However, this was the first one where I spoke to other humans.  I kept going month after month, opening after opening because I love to see art and I want to connect with the art community here–but I found I never ended up talking to anyone, because I don’t know how normal adult humans who don’t already know each other start conversations?

 

Amy Lyste
Amy Lyste
Hilary?
Hillary Kempenich
mariah
Mariah Masilko
Katherine Fink
Kathryn Fink, 2015
Questionable Self, 24in x 24in mixed media collage on canvas, 2015
Questionable Self, 24in x 24in mixed media collage on canvas, 2015

I’m happy to say–the few connections I have made (from my volunteering at the Art Museum and the summer Art & Wine Walks) were kind enough to introduce me to several other local artists included in the exhibition.

This was particularly delightful because I was able to begin the process of matching the work to the artist.  Art is everywhere in this town (which is awesome) and each artist is developing his/her own distinctive style. It was so fun to meet other artistic humans, and glimpse briefly into their techniques, personalities and love of art.

It made my heart happy.

Also–these are only a few images of the fantastic works included in this exhibition.  It should be noted that other talented humans made other interesting works that I didn’t get a chance to properly photograph and share.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

