within seven days: week no. 13

My olive green/brown gel manicure.  I am like a professional adult in the beauty industry, right?
My olive green/brown gel manicure. I am like a professional adult in the beauty industry, right?

This week, I scheduled and received a gel manicure all by myself.  I received my very first manicure ever at about age 24.  I have only had about two or three in my life, and I have never gone alone, or made the appointments.   Getting a manicure shouldn’t fill me with anxiety, but it totally does.  I chose a local salon that had been recommended to me. However, from the moment I walked in, I felt more like an annoyance than anything.  I wasn’t sure what to expect since it had been so long since I had a manicure, and I fear making small talk with strangers.  In addition to those irrational fears and discomforts, the clientele was all white females, and the employees were all predominately Asian men.  I have no issue with humans of different races, although, I am exceedingly uncomfortable in taking part in any service where the staff and the customers all consist of two distinct ethnicities.  Is that a form of racism, that it makes me uncomfortable?  I don’t think so, but I have no idea.  Racism can be tricky like that.

Anyway, after that random thought tangent into the potential racism in daily activities–in the end I was very happy with my nails, the man did well, and did seem a bit friendlier by the end of my service.  I’m not sure if I would go back, or recommend that place to a friend.  Perhaps, I would have felt far more at ease had I gone with a friend?  I don’t know.  But I do know, I did something out of my comfort zone this week, and have fun nails to show for it.

5 thoughts on “within seven days: week no. 13

Add yours

    1. Actually they don’t. One of the owners close friends runs her own nail salon, so the owner isn’t getting into them, because she has hair and spa services, and she doesn’t want to be in competition with her friend–which, I think is really sweet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

