within seven days: week no. 15

This week, I made the effort to call every client at my work by name.  I know this seems silly, and insignificant, but the truth is–it was really uncomfortable for me.  I always feel strange calling a stranger by name.  It feels as if they think I am attempting to fake a friendship with them.  However, I overheard my co-worker making the effort to talk to all clients (in person and over the phone) by name, and it has such a genuine quality to it–taking that moment to imply, I-have-paid-enough-attention-to-you-that-I-have-learned-your-name-and-I-know-you-are-an-individual seems like an easy nice thing to do.  It also helps me learn the names of frequent clientele much quicker.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

