artist’s way, week five: i love or would love

We must hope, 8in x 8in mixed media collage on canvas, 2010
We must hope • 8in x 8in • Mixed media collage • Carly Swenson • 2010

As an exercise in week five, Cameron instructs her readers to make a list of ten activities I love or would love to try but I’m not allowed.  I feel this list is supposed to be sort of random, playful and exciting—listing items like sky-diving, learning to horse-back ride, join an improv group, a hot air balloon ride, etc.

My list felt pretty pathetic—I struggled to think of anything at all I doubt that is because I’m already clearing leading the ultimate fulfilled life without fear or reservation, therefore, I desire of nothing.

Partially, I know I overthink these exercises. Maybe because, since I am endeavoring into The Artist’s Way on my own, I worry about doing it wrong? Or not understanding the tasks correctly?  Or that maybe I am missing some underlying subtext? It’s almost impressive how well I can live in my own head and get in my own way–not to brag, but I am pretty awesome at it.

Here is my list:

  1. Take a dancing lesson
  2. Visit Egypt
  3. Take a pottery class

Yep. Three of Ten. Seems sort of sad?

The next exercise was to help get past my inner censor by speed writing a wish list.  Since I’m writing the thoughts down as soon as they come into my mind, tit prevents self-censorship of ideas I would likely rework or consider absurd.  I don’t like the word ‘wishes’ it feels juvenile or naive. However, in the grand scheme of this Artist’s Way experiment, I can’t let myself to get caught up in semantics.  Cameron explains that wishes are just that, and tend to be frivolous. Therefore, wishes shouldn’t be taken too seriously.

In my writing, instead of being fun and frivolous, it just ended up as a sort of insightfully dark and strange stream-of-consciousness babble. It’s bizarre how one thought flows chaotically to next, almost before one is even on the page. These seemingly unconnected ideas moving seamlessly into the next.

That being said, here is my wish list:

I wish I could meet Banksy. I wish I could get my work in a contemporary art magazine like Juxtapoz or Hi-Fructose, but my art is probably not illustration-style enough. I wish I could have a solo exhibition in a highly reputable gallery.  I wish more people would take me seriously as an artist, and take notice of my work.  I wish I weren’t selfish.  I wish I weren’t so hard on myself.  I wish our country weren’t in this huge recession, and corporations weren’t considered people.  I wish people could be less hateful.  I wish my husband would plan a trip to Italy for our birthdays.  I wish we could go on another cruise.  I wish I knew how to plan a trip.  I wish I could see Sam and Ariel again.  I wish I knew how to make friends.  I wish I had close friends like the ones I made in college.  I wish I weren’t scared of life.  I wish I knew where to begin.  I wish my faith were stronger.  I wish I were known.  I wish I felt my brother had some sort of interest in my life. I wish I were less judgmental.  I wish I didn’t get sad sometimes for no real reason.  I wish I didn’t constantly analyze my own actions.  I wish more people understood my sense of humor.  I wish I weren’t scared to open up to people.  I wish I weren’t petrified of failure. I wish others could envision the success I can envision for myself.  I wish I knew were to start.


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

12 responses to “artist’s way, week five: i love or would love”

  1. ghadah Avatar

    You wish so well. I wish I could wish like you.

    Like

    1. nakedcarlyart Avatar

      Do I? I thought wishes were supposed to be happier and fun–and inspiring. Mine just felt sort of sad. I don’t know, that might sound weird. Anyway, thanks for the support, you are always so kind.

      Like

  2. blurofwoodsmoke Avatar

    I think stream of consciousness writing can be really revealing. Yours sounds almost like a poem or a song. It has a real depth of feeling to it. Would you think about re-writing it as a poem? I think it would work.

    I really wouldn’t worry too much if the other exercise didn’t bring out much for you. I think that there’s always some exercises that don’t work for everyone, that’s what I’ve told myself anyway!

    Like

    1. nakedcarlyart Avatar

      I could see how it may have poetic quality, but I stay away from writing poetry. I can appreciate other’s written poetic work. However, I am far far too critical of my own normal writing, let alone something I am intended to be poetic. I think you are probably right about the exercise, I know in the beginning I remember her mentioning that the main thing is to keep with the artist date and the morning pages–and keep with the tasks and exercises and you can. So I am along your train of thought too.

      Like

  3. Alice Avatar

    I miss planty!! LOL!! I’m with you on the failure part…ugh and the close friends -why do they always seem so hard to come by??

    Like

    1. nakedcarlyart Avatar

      It is so strange as children you can just walk up to someone, and say, “hey let’s play” and BAM! New friend. Now that I am an adult, I don’t even know how to meet people?

      Like

  4. katythompsongraves Avatar
    katythompsongraves

    I completely get it! It is so hard to make close friends like college friends. But the truth of it is that we aren’t in the same situation, it isn’t as easy as it once was and its hard to make good friends overnight. Its going to be a hard thing to get used to. In my last job I made a friend and I told her I wanted to make more friends and she said that’s how people make friends when they are adults, they make work friends and then go from there. Jerick and I just moved and I am at home for the first time able to work on my art. Something I always wanted but its lonely. Jerick suggested that I just do anything something to get me out of the house. So I went to a knitting group. I sat with a bunch of old ladies and heard about them bitch about their lives. I laughed and felt uncomfortable and mostly got ignored. But I am going to keep looking for groups to go to. I am going to try volunteering at an art museum in the next time over. But the truth is its something that I think is always going to be a struggle for people like us. My mom informed me that it gets easier when you have kids….yeah not right now and hopefully that’s not the only way to make friends. :)

    Like

    1. nakedcarlyart Avatar

      Well said. But my last work experience was pretty scarring on the friend-front. I won’t get into it–but oh man. Are there any community ed art classes? That could be inspiring, and give you a reason to get out of the house. I know what you mean though, OUr first year in England I couldn’t work (no visa) and it was slow and lonely since I didn’t know anyone either. A knitting group sounds like it could be interesting, but I am awful at anything involving yarn (other than gluing it to canvas). Volunteering at an art museum sounds awesome. I wish we had more galleries and museums around here, but at least I have the pretty culture and landscape.

      I am sure it gets easier when you have kids because there are play groups, and kid/mommy activities, etc–also the majority of women around here have kids or are pregnant and aren’t too interested in a random non-kid human–I also have no desire to have kids–and that seems to be a little frowned upon?

      Like

  5. zerozine Avatar
    zerozine

    I love your collage, do vivid and alive!

    Like

    1. nakedcarlyart Avatar

      Thanks much! I thought the colors with the text was fun. Thanks for taking the time to check out my post.

      Like

  6. kh1210 Avatar
    kh1210

    I love your wish list! I agree on some of the things, but I’m sure lots would. And I really love the plant in your drain!

    Like

    1. nakedcarlyart Avatar

      Yea, Planty just showed up one day. I am not sure why but I found myself strangely attached to him. Eventually he washed away, but he felt hopeful and I liked that.:)

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.