painting with a twist III

My demonstration piece--
My demonstration piece–

I facilitated my last Painting with a Twist event for the spouses’ club this month.  I never expected to enjoy being a member of a military spouses’ club–however, I really have.   It still feels strange to realize this was also my last club meeting before my husband and I move back to the US.  I have met some very lovely humans here.

For this painting session, I traced out the traditional Portuguese rooster.  I wanted people to have a painting of something they could associate with their time here on the island, much like the flowers and fish from our first Painting with a Twist, or the cow canvas boards from the second event I hosted.  I always love these events.  I am constantly delighted to see the various ways different individuals can take the same starting image and make it uniquely their own.  The most important aspect of a projects like this, is to simply relax and enjoy the process of painting with nice humans.  If you end up with a painting you like that is pleasant extra.

As always, I started out with a brief demonstration, and explanation of color mixing.  After that, people were welcome to play and experiment with their paintings in any way they wanted.  I was around to happily answer questions or concerns people had throughout the completion of their paintings.

Painting with a Twist III: image 1
Painting with a Twist III: image 1
Painting with a Twist III: image 1
Painting with a Twist III: image 2
Painting with a Twist III: image 2
Painting with a Twist III: image 3
Painting with a Twist III: image 3
Painting with a Twist III: image 4
Painting with a Twist III: image 4
Painting with a Twist III: image 5
Painting with a Twist III: image 5
Painting with a Twist III: image 6
Painting with a Twist III: image 6
Painting with a Twist III: image 7
Painting with a Twist III: image 8
Painting with a Twist III: image 8
Painting with a Twist III: image 9
Painting with a Twist III: image 9
Painting with a Twist III: image 10 (Megan painted hers in the style of Francis Bacon)
Painting with a Twist III: image 10 (Megan painted hers in the style of Francis Bacon)
Painting with a Twist III: image 11
Painting with a Twist III: image 11

One thought on “painting with a twist III

Add yours

  1. I like that your painting sessions produce different images. My daughter has attended two similar events (they also drink wine) but the results are too similar for my art teacher liking. I really like the Rooster #8; it expresses the Portuguese pottery very well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

